The orchestra membership hails from Waynesboro and Staunton as well as communities as far away as Washington, D.C., Harrisonburg, Richmond, Charlottesville, Lynchburg, Roanoke, and places between. Some are students or professors from area schools, colleges and universities, some are highly talented community members with daytime professions in other fields, and others are professional musicians who enjoy the opportunity to play symphony music. Everyone comes together weekly for rehearsals, learning from one another and enjoying all forms of orchestral music.

View the list below to see the members of the various sections of the orchestra.


First Violins
Wanchi, Concertmaster
Jacob Roege, Assistant Concertmaster
Elizabeth Barron
Susan Christopher
Karl Durland
Christa Hoover
Annie Kim
Debbie Kiser
Lisa McDermott
Sharon Miller
David Preston
Kelly Wiedemann
Eleanor Wilson
Second Violins
Lianne Campbell, Principal
Karen Chamblee
Aaron Cripe
Karen Cox
Isaac Dahl
Kelly Donato
Eric Gleason
Eleanor Hilgart
Robert Langellotti
Braxton Rhodes
Eric Schmalz
Jacinda Stahly
Joanna Stauffer
Abby Volcansek
Penny Ward
Irene Warner


JessicaRoxanne Atienza, Principal
Dani Abbott
Linda Barnes
Jamieson Bourque
Erin Conway
Allison Jue
Claire Ober


Elizabeth Cantrell, Principal
Brian Helmke, Assistant Principal
Virginia Barber
Karen Fairchild
Marina Fernandez
Beverly Frank
Linnea Grim
Karin Huntington
Andy Mello
Matt Nelson
Audun Nelson
Ian Penn
Andrew Rockett

Double Bass

J. Michael Priester, Principal
Andre La Velle
Lindasy Lam
Mitch Sams
Harvey Wilcox


Linda Blondel
Dr. Lise Keiter


Debbi Stephenson, Principal
Laura Jean Brand
Rick Pennington


Rick Pennington


Gabriela Dech , Principal
Diane Harrington

English Horn

Rebecca Snead


David Snively , Principal
James VanDyke


Suzanne Pattison , Principal
Lenny Grasso

Contra Bassoon

H. Thomas Baise


Kevin Newton, Principal
Carrie Blake
Jeremy Loy
Keith Smith


Ross Ahlhorn , Principal
Sarah Cottrell-Cumber
William Posey


Andrew Lankford , Principal
Tom McKenzie
William Crowson (Bass trombone)


Barry Slayton, Principal


Charlie Nesmith


Charlie Nesmith, Principal
Scott Herron

Emeritus Members

Evan Amoroso
Tyler Bare
Elizabeth Benzinger
Susan Black *
Melissa Bowles
Claire Brooks
Jessica Brtva
Ben Cash
Joshua Cole
Catherine Creasy
Chris Custin
Mixon Darracott
Gary Elwell *
Susan Felton
Claire Fortenberry
Charlie Gasque
Jason Guira
Nancy Handley
Polly Haynes
Chad Howard
Paul Kim
Candace Kluesner *
James Kluesner *
Heather Lankford
Niki Lendvay
Stephen Layman
Elizabeth Lohr-Myers
Teresa Lykins
David McCormick
Emilie Mehrtens
Sophie Mello
Joelle Miller *
Robert Mott
Zac Nicely
John Pappas
Bruce Penner *
Sarah Peterson
Jacob Roege
CJ Sciara
Karen Snively *
Peter Spaar
Eric Stassen
Jenny Taylor
Rachel Towns
Brian Wahl
Brandon Walsh

*Principal Chair